Indeed - all sorts of things were presented and discussed at the Central Switzerland Foundation Day. The fact that so many experts felt the need to talk about the topic at the Paraplegic Centre in Nottwil on 19 October and that the large hall was almost full speaks volumes. Organisations that are dependent on funds should now get their act together and engage in professional foundation fundraising. The time seems to be good. Not despite, but because of the rapid changes and low interest rates.

13,000 foundations with an estimated capital of 70 billion and a funding volume of 1.5 to 2 billion Swiss francs can make quite a difference. But many still have to venture out of the dark and communicate if they want to be found. For the thicket is hardly transparent. Databases such as fundraiso.ch are now providing invaluable services. This is one of the messages from Prof. Dr Georg von Schnurrbein.

In the face of rapid change, foundations often also face the question of purpose fulfilment. Dr. h.c. Annemarie Huber-Hotz not only pleaded for modern governance for foundations and an appropriate and contemporary strategy, but also for asking the crucial question: Do we still need us, should we change the purpose of the foundation, or even pay out the capital and dissolve the foundation?

Prof. Dr. oec. Maurice Pedergnana, Chief Economist at Zugerberg Finanz, spoke along the same lines. What should be done when low interest rates make it impossible to provide meaningful support in fulfilling the foundation's purpose? Doesn't it then make more sense for foundations to pursue an asset strategy in the sense of depleting assets instead of distributing crumbs here and there?

In various discussions during the usual networking and also in subsequent conversations, the topic was heard again and again: Foundations that want/need to get rid of their capital as quickly as possible. So right now is probably a good opportunity for many organisations to find support with the right strategy, with the right information and with targeted enquiries.

Prof. Rodolfo Ciucci
Lecturer in Communication
University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland
School of Business
[email protected]

FHNW Logo

Posted in Grantmaking Foundations, Foundations Switzerland

Leave a Reply

In der Tat – am Innerschweizer Stiftungstag wurde allerhand präsentiert und diskutiert. Dass so viele Fachleute das Bedürfnis hatten, sich am 19. Oktober im Paraplegikerzentrum in Nottwil zum Thema zu unterhalten und der grosse Saal nahezu voll war, spricht Bände. Organisationen, die auf Gelder angewiesen sind, sollten sich jetzt auf die Socken machen und professionelles Stiftungsfundraising betreiben. Die Zeit scheint gut zu sein. Nicht trotz, sondern wegen der schnellen Veränderungen und den tiefen Zinsen.

13‘000 Stiftungen mit einem Kapital von geschätzten 70 Milliarden und einem Fördervolumen von 1,5 bis 2 Milliarden Franken können einiges bewegen. Viele müssen sich aber noch aus dem Dunkeln hervorwagen und kommunizieren, wenn sie gefunden werden wollen. Denn das Dickicht ist kaum durchschaubar. Da leisten Datenbanken wie fundraiso.ch mittlerweile goldwerte Dienste. Das eine der Botschaften von Prof. Dr. Georg von Schnurrbein.

Angesichts des schnellen Wandels stellt sich für Stiftungen oft auch die Frage nach der Zweckerfüllung. Dr. h.c. Annemarie Huber-Hotz plädierte nicht nur für eine moderne Governance bei Stiftungen und eine angemessene und zeitgemässe Strategie, sondern auch dafür, die Gretchenfrage zu stellen: Braucht es uns noch, sollten wir den Stiftungszweck ändern, oder gar das Kapital auszahlen und die Stiftung auflösen?

In dieselbe Richtung sprach sich Prof. Dr. oec. Maurice Pedergnana aus, Chefökonom bei der Zugerberg Finanz. Was tun, wenn die tiefen Zinsen es verunmöglichen, bei der Erfüllung des Stiftungszwecks sinnvolle Unterstützung zu leisten? Ist es dann nicht sinnvoller für Stiftungen, eine Vermögensstrategie im Sinne von Substanzverzehr zu verfolgen, anstatt da und dort Brosamen zu verteilen?

In verschiedenen Diskussionen beim üblichen Networking und auch bei anschliessenden Gesprächen war das Thema immer wieder zu hören: Stiftungen, die möglichst schnell ihr Kapital loswerden wollen/sollten. So bietet sich gerade jetzt für viele Organisationen wohl eine gute Gelegenheit, mit der richtigen Strategie, mit der richtigen Information und mit gezielten Anfragen Unterstützung zu finden.

Prof. Rodolfo Ciucci
Dozent für Kommunikation
Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz
Hochschule für Wirtschaft
rodolfo.ciucci@fhnw.ch

FHNW Logo

Öffentlich Kommentieren