The co-author of the book Sponsorship - the guide for practice In the following, Dr. Dr. Elisa Bortoluzzi Dubach answers a number of questions on the topic of "sponsoring", which were posed by fundraiso.ch in a written interview. These questions were submitted by users of the fundraiso.ch platform.

So far, I have only ever had to deal with foundations. Accordingly, the topic of sponsorship is still foreign to me. Can I win sponsors for my project, even if we have always been financed exclusively by foundations so far?
One does not exclude the other: Those who work with foundations have usually acquired the ability to search for information and develop documents/applications. What is important here is that the limits for the commercial use of projects and counterpart contributions are respected. In addition, it is necessary for successful cooperation to understand that foundations and sponsors have different expectations.

What are the differences?
The objectives and motivation in sponsorship activities are fundamentally different: a sponsoring foundation is completely free in its decisions as long as they remain within the foundation's purpose. Companies, on the other hand, decide within the framework of their sponsorship activities where the achievement of corporate goals in terms of image and name recognition - or in terms of sales, turnover and profit - are decisive. For sponsoring foundations, the applicants are initially the most important target group of all, because the foundation's purpose can usually only be implemented in cooperation.

For sponsors, on the other hand, applicants are one target group among many. A sponsor therefore expects clear services in return that are tailored to his or her needs. These, in turn, are examined according to the price-performance criterion. Foundations, on the other hand, only want to be mentioned in communication, if at all. Accordingly, one must acquire specific know-how if one wants to work with sponsors.


responsive image
Dr. Dr. Elisa Bortoluzzi Dubach is a consultant for patrons, foundations, sponsors and sponsorship recipients in Zug/Switzerland, lecturer on sponsorship and foundations at various universities and universities of applied sciences in Germany, Italy and Switzerland, author of Stiftungen - der Leitfaden für Gesuchsteller, co-author of Sponsoring-der Leitfaden für die Praxis and Mäzeninnen-Denken-Handeln-Bewegen(www.elisabortoluzzidubach.com).

Could foundations even bail out if we gain sponsors or is it common today to be "two-track"?
It is absolutely common today to approach both foundations and sponsors for a project. This means a broader and better financing of projects, which both partners appreciate in terms of risk minimisation. It gets tricky when sponsors enjoy a "suboptimal" reputation or appear too commercial in the context of a project.

How do these two worlds reconcile?
By considering very carefully and thoroughly, within the framework of a financing plan, who would be a good match and looking for their sponsors according to these criteria.

If a company also runs a foundation (corporate foundation) - how do I decide whether I should rather try to win the foundation as a supporter or the company as a sponsor?
It is a matter of thoroughly weighing up a number of factors:
  • Does the project fit into the company's sponsorship strategy or is it better placed in the strategy of the Corporate Foundation? Does the company as sponsor reach the intended goals and target groups with my project?
  • Does the project have a sufficiently large rights potential that they can be exploited in return for the sponsor?
  • How big is the amount I am looking for? It can happen that sponsoring departments have less financial leeway than foundations.
If I write to companies for financial support in the context of a local project, does this always have to be done in the context of a sponsorship or are there also other ways to win companies as donors (donations, charitable commitment without consideration, etc.)?
Not necessarily, often companies have a budget for donations with a corresponding donation policy, a corporate social responsibility strategy or their own foundations. The "golden rule" has proven to be to gather all information before contacting a potential partner and then start where you see the best chances. It can be very useful to build and maintain a good network.
The Haupt Publishing House Ltd. has some valuable excerpts of checklists from Sponsorship - the guide for practice which can be viewed and studied here:

View checklists
Posted in Interview, Sponsoring

Leave a Reply

Die Co-Autorin des Buches Sponsoring - Der Leitfaden für die Praxis Dr. Dr. Elisa Bortoluzzi Dubach beantwortet in der Folge einige Fragen zum Thema "Sponsoring", welche von fundraiso.ch in einem schriftlichen Interview gestellt wurden. Diese Fragen wurden von Nutzern und Nutzerinnen der Plattform fundraiso.ch herangetragen.

Ich habe bisher immer nur mit Stiftungen zu tun gehabt. Das Thema Sponsoring ist mir entsprechend noch fremd. Kann ich Sponsoren für mein Projekt gewinnen, auch wenn wir bisher immer ausschliesslich von Stiftungen finanziert worden sind?
Das eine schließt das andere nicht aus: Wer mit Stiftungen arbeitet, hat in der Regel die Fähigkeit erworben, nach Informationen zu suchen und Dokumente/Gesuche zu erarbeiten. Wichtig dabei ist, dass die Grenzen für die kommerzielle Nutzung von Projekten und Gegenleistungen eingehalten werden. Zudem ist es notwendig für eine erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit, zu verstehen, dass Stiftungen und Sponsoren unterschiedliche Erwartungen haben.

Worin bestehen die Unterschiede?
Die Zielsetzung und Motivation in der Fördertätigkeit sind grundverschieden: Eine Förderstiftung ist in ihren Entscheiden völlig frei, solange sie sich innerhalb des Stiftungszweckes bewegt. Unternehmen dagegen entscheiden im Rahmen ihrer Sponsoringtätigkeit, wo die Erreichung der Unternehmensziele bezüglich Image- und Bekanntheitsgrad - oder bezüglich Absatz, Umsatz und Gewinn entscheidend sind. Für Förderstiftungen sind die Gesuchsteller zunächst die wichtigste Zielgruppe überhaupt, weil der Stiftungszweck in der Regel nur in der Zusammenarbeit umgesetzt werden kann.

Für Sponsoren hingegen sind Gesuchsteller eine Zielgruppe unter vielen. Ein Sponsor erwartet deshalb klare Gegenleistungen, die auf seine Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten sind. Diese wiederum werden nach dem Preis-Leistungskriterium überprüft. Stiftungen wollen dagegen, wenn überhaupt, lediglich in der Kommunikation erwähnt werden. Entsprechend muss man sich spezifisches Know-how aneignen, wenn man mit Sponsoren arbeiten will.


responsive image
Dr. Dr. Elisa Bortoluzzi Dubach ist Beraterin für Mäzene, Stiftungen, Sponsoren und Sponsoringnehmer in Zug/Schweiz, Dozentin für Sponsoring- und Stiftungswesen an verschiedenen Universitäten und Fachhochschulen in Deutschland, Italien und der Schweiz, Autorin von Stiftungen – der Leitfaden für Gesuchsteller, Co-Autorin von Sponsoring-der Leitfaden für die Praxis und Mäzeninnen-Denken-Handeln-Bewegen (www.elisabortoluzzidubach.com).

Könnten Stiftungen sogar abspringen, wenn wir Sponsoren gewinnen oder ist es heute üblich "zweigleisig" unterwegs zu sein?
Es ist heute absolut üblich, für ein Projekt sowohl Stiftungen als Sponsoren anzusprechen. Dies bedeutet nämlich eine breitere und bessere Finanzierung von Projekten, was beide Partner im Sinne der Risikominimierung schätzen. Heikel wird es, wenn Sponsoren eine «suboptimale» Reputation geniessen oder im Rahmen eines Projektes zu kommerziell auftreten.

Wie vereinbaren sich diese zwei Welten?
Indem der Gesuchsteller im Rahmen eines Finanzierungsplans sehr aufmerksam und gründlich überlegt, wer gut zusammenpasst und nach diesen Kriterien seine Sponsoren sucht.

Wenn eine Firma auch eine Stiftung (Corporate Foundation) betreibt - wie entscheide ich, ob ich eher die Stiftung als Förderer oder die Firma als Sponsor zu gewinnen versuchen soll?
Es geht darum, eine Reihe von Faktoren gründlich abzuwägen:
  • Passt das Projekt in die Sponsoring-Strategie der Firma oder ist es besser in der Strategie der Corporate Foundation aufgehoben? Erreicht das Unternehmen als Sponsor die anvisierten Ziele und Zielgruppen mit meinem Projekt?
  • Hat das Projekt ein genügend grosses Rechtepotential, dass man sie als Gegenleistungen für den Sponsor verwerten kann?
  • Wie gross ist die Summe, die ich suche? Es kann passieren, dass Sponsoringabteilungen finanziell weniger Spielraum haben als Stiftungen.
Wenn ich im Rahmen eines lokalen Projektes Firmen um finanzielle Unterstützung anschreibe, muss das immer im Rahmen eines Sponsorings geschehen oder gibt es auch andere Möglichkeiten Firmen als Geldgeber zu gewinnen (Spenden, wohltätiges Engagement ohne Gegenleistung etc.)?
Nicht zwingend, oftmals haben Unternehmen ein Budget für Spenden mit entsprechender Spendenpolitik, eine Corporate Social Responsibility Strategie oder eigene Stiftungen. Als „goldene Regel“ hat sich bewährt, dass vor einer Kontaktnahme mit einem potentiellen Partner alle Informationen beschafft werden und dann dort ansetzt, wo man die besten Chancen sieht. Dabei kann es sehr nützlich sein, ein gutes Netzwerk aufzubauen und zu pflegen.
Die Haupt Verlag AG hat einige wertvolle Auszüge von Checklisten aus Sponsoring - Der Leitfaden für die Praxis zur Verfügung gestellt, welche hier angesehen und studiert werden können:

Checklisten Ansehen
Veröffentlicht unter Sponsoring

Öffentlich Kommentieren