Angela Greco

Original language of the article: German

Who is Angela Greco: How would you describe yourself?

I pursue my work with enthusiasm. As an environmentally conscious global citizen, I want to contribute to making our society more inclusive and resilient. I am a big city person, but love to retreat to nature. My greatest passions: classical and art music, avant-garde theater, opera, travel, modern and contemporary art, literature and tennis.

What were your most important career stages?

The experience of studying on exchange at UC Berkeley, during my first years of study at the Luigi Bocconi University of Economics in Milan, taught me the importance of knowledge and how indispensable independent and responsible thinking is if one wants to make a significant contribution. I am grateful to the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean for providing me with a solid knowledge of the region's economy and for helping me develop the theoretical framework for my field research on the suicide of Guarani-Kaiowá children in Mato Grosso do Sul. As a doctoral student in economic sociology, I then returned to academia in North America and was able to devote my time at York University to the more intellectual aspects of university research and its direct application to economics and society. It was in this context that I began to explore social impact, ethical finance, and social economics, no longer just as an academic but as a consultant.

Today you are head of philanthropy at the Fondazione Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana. What exactly are your responsibilities and what projects are you working on?

I am responsible for catalyzing the philanthropic potential of the Conservatory of Italian Switzerland (Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana). My external contacts are physical persons (mainly major donors), third party institutions (mainly funding foundations) and companies. Each contact has specificities in terms of demands, priorities, etc., and I strive to bring our strategic planning into optimal harmony with each specific interest. This approach guarantees a high degree of sustainability and mutual satisfaction, as both our foundation and each contact find the elements within the partnership that meet their own institutional needs. For example, numerous institutions and various patrons work with us to provide financial support for our students' education. This is done through our solidarity funds (one was set up at the beginning of the pandemic, the other supports students and children who have fled to Ticino as a result of the war in Ukraine), through scholarships and, more recently, through a program called "Patronage Artistico" (student sponsorship), whereby a patron "adopts and accompanies" a highly talented young musician with no financial means throughout his or her education at our Conservatory. This allows them to concentrate fully on their studies and preparation for prestigious international competitions without having to rely on odd jobs to finance their studies. Other stakeholders help us maintain, manage, and develop the Conservatory's instrument inventory. Finally, the Philanthropy Department is actively engaged at the local, national and international levels in strengthening and developing philanthropic support for the innovative project "La Città della Musica" (The City of Music), which is dedicated to musical education, research and production and within which our Foundation, together with the Orchestra della Svizzera italiana, the Ensemble I Barocchisti and the Phonotheque, will have a new home. The aim of the project is to promote collaboration between these organizations and synergies with the local community, and to make musical culture and its impact ever more widespread in economic and social terms.

What characteristics do you think make a grantmaking foundation a good partner for a beneficiary? What kind of support should it provide and how?


From a systemic point of view, a grant-making foundation is a good partner for the beneficiary if it has a comprehensive knowledge of the context in which it operates and wishes to optimize the social impact of the partnerships in which it is involved. In such a context, the grantmaking foundation succeeds in selecting reliable and innovative partners with whom it can achieve its established objectives. In this way, both the funding foundation and the beneficiaries can strengthen their respective institutional development and, if possible, together renew the system in which they operate.
We have had significant experience in this regard. It is precisely the collaboration with the foundations that has allowed us, for example, to launch the Solidarity Fund already mentioned and to raise more than 550,000 CHF within two years, thus cushioning the impact of the pandemic on the financial situation of some of our students.

On the other hand, what makes a patron a "good patron"?

In contrast to the sponsoring foundation, the patron is also guided by the subjectivity of his emotions, desires, expectations and possible past experiences. The "good patron" is able to strike a balance between his own subjectivity and the goals of the project he wishes to support. Networks between philanthropists are therefore instrumental in making this individual balance systemic and sustainable over time.
Therefore, on October 20, 2022, the Philanthropy Division will organize the first Forum of Strategic Philanthropy for the Arts, with UBS as the main partner. The aim of the Forum is to present the most significant national and international projects with responsible, visionary and successful synergies that have found sustainable solutions to socio-economic and artistic problems and have been able to bring about lasting improvement. A day behind closed doors, where some of the most distinguished Swiss and international philanthropists are invited to reflect together and share methods of success.

What do you think is the importance of the practice of writing a final report on the impact of funded projects?

Impact monitoring is becoming increasingly important, and thus the preparation of a comprehensive report is, in my view, an indispensable element for optimal cooperation with the funding partner, but beyond that also a valuable measure for self-monitoring.

The interview was conducted by Dr. Dr. Elisa Bortoluzzi Dubach. She is a foundation and sponsorship consultant, author of "Stiftungen- Der Leitfaden für Antragsteller" (Foundations - The Applicant's Guide) and a lecturer(www.elisabortoluzzi.com).

Posted in Interview

Leave a Reply

Angela Greco

Langue originale de l'article : Allemand

Qui est Angela Greco : comment vous décririez-vous ?

Je fais mon travail avec enthousiasme. En tant que citoyenne du monde soucieuse de l'environnement, je souhaite contribuer à rendre notre société plus inclusive et plus résistante. Je suis une citadine, mais j'aime me retirer dans la nature. Mes plus grandes passions : la musique classique et la musique savante, le théâtre d'avant-garde, l'opéra, les voyages, l'art moderne et contemporain, la littérature et le tennis.

Quelles ont été les principales étapes de votre carrière ?

L'expérience de l'échange à l'UC Berkeley, qui s'est déroulée pendant mes premières années d'études à l'université d'économie Luigi Bocconi de Milan, m'a appris l'importance du savoir et l'indispensable nécessité d'une pensée indépendante et responsable si l'on veut apporter une contribution déterminante. Je suis reconnaissante à la Commission économique des Nations unies pour l'Amérique latine et les Caraïbes de m'avoir permis d'acquérir de solides connaissances sur l'économie de la région et de m'avoir aidée à élaborer le cadre théorique de mes recherches sur le terrain concernant le suicide des enfants guaranis kaiowá dans le Mato Grosso do Sul. En tant que doctorante en sociologie économique, je suis ensuite retournée dans le monde académique nord-américain et j'ai pu me consacrer aux aspects plus intellectuels de la recherche universitaire et à son application directe dans l'économie et la société à l'Université York. C'est dans ce contexte que j'ai commencé à m'intéresser à l'impact social, à la finance éthique et à l'économie sociale, non plus seulement en tant que chercheur, mais aussi en tant que consultant.

Vous êtes aujourd'hui responsable du secteur philanthropique de la Fondazione Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana. En quoi consistent exactement vos tâches et sur quels projets travaillez-vous ?

Je suis chargé de catalyser le potentiel philanthropique du Conservatoire de musique de la Suisse italienne (Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana). Mes interlocuteurs externes sont des personnes physiques (principalement des grands donateurs), des institutions tierces (principalement des fondations de soutien) et des entreprises. Chaque interlocuteur présente des particularités en termes d'exigences, de priorités, etc. et je m'efforce d'harmoniser au mieux notre planification stratégique avec les intérêts spécifiques de chacun. Cette approche garantit un haut degré de durabilité et de satisfaction mutuelle, car tant notre fondation que chaque interlocuteur trouve au sein du partenariat les éléments qui correspondent à ses propres besoins institutionnels. Par exemple, de nombreuses institutions et différents mécènes collaborent avec nous pour assurer le soutien financier de la formation de nos étudiants. Cela se fait par le biais de nos fonds de solidarité (l'un a été créé au début de la pandémie, l'autre soutient les étudiants et les enfants réfugiés au Tessin suite à la guerre en Ukraine), de bourses d'études et, plus récemment, d'un programme appelé "Patronage Artistico" (parrainage d'étudiants), dans le cadre duquel un mécène "adopte et accompagne" chaque fois un jeune musicien très doué et sans ressources financières pendant toute sa formation au sein de notre conservatoire. Celui-ci peut ainsi se consacrer entièrement à ses études et à la préparation de concours internationaux renommés, sans avoir à recourir à des petits boulots pour financer ses études. D'autres parties prenantes nous aident à entretenir, à gérer et à développer le parc instrumental du conservatoire. Enfin, le département philanthropique s'engage activement au niveau local, national et international pour renforcer et développer le soutien philanthropique au projet innovant "La Città della Musica" (La Cité de la Musique), dédié à l'éducation, à la recherche et à la production musicales, dans le cadre duquel notre fondation, ainsi que l'Orchestra della Svizzera italiana, l'ensemble I Barocchisti et la phonothèque, se voient attribuer un nouveau siège. L'objectif du projet est de favoriser la collaboration entre ces organisations et les synergies avec la communauté locale, et de diffuser toujours plus largement la culture musicale et son impact en termes économiques et sociaux.

Selon vous, quelles sont les caractéristiques qui font d'une fondation de soutien un bon partenaire pour un bénéficiaire ? Quel type de soutien doit-elle fournir et comment ?


D'un point de vue systémique, une fondation donatrice est un bon partenaire pour le bénéficiaire si elle connaît parfaitement le contexte dans lequel elle opère et si elle souhaite optimiser l'impact social des partenariats auxquels elle participe. Dans un tel contexte, la fondation donatrice parvient à sélectionner des partenaires fiables et innovants avec lesquels elle peut atteindre les objectifs qu'elle s'est fixés. De cette manière, tant la fondation donatrice que les bénéficiaires peuvent renforcer leur développement institutionnel respectif et, si possible, renouveler ensemble le système dans lequel ils opèrent.
Nous avons fait des expériences significatives à cet égard. C'est précisément la collaboration avec les fondations qui nous a permis, par exemple, de créer le fonds de solidarité mentionné plus haut et de réunir plus de 550 000 CHF en deux ans, afin d'amortir les effets de la pandémie sur la situation financière de certains de nos étudiants.

En revanche, qu'est-ce qui fait d'un mécène un "bon mécène" ?

Contrairement à la fondation de soutien, le mécène est également guidé par la subjectivité de ses émotions, de ses désirs, de ses attentes et de ses éventuelles expériences antérieures. Le "bon mécène" est capable de créer un équilibre entre sa propre subjectivité et les objectifs du projet qu'il souhaite soutenir. Les réseaux entre philanthropes sont donc déterminants pour que cet équilibre individuel devienne systémique et durable au fil du temps.
C'est pourquoi le département de la philanthropie organise le 20 octobre 2022 le premier forum de la philanthropie stratégique pour les arts, avec UBS comme partenaire principal. L'objectif du forum est de présenter les projets nationaux et internationaux les plus significatifs, avec des synergies responsables, visionnaires et réussies, qui ont trouvé des solutions durables à des problèmes socio-économiques et artistiques et qui ont pu apporter une amélioration durable. Une journée à huis clos à laquelle sont invités quelques-uns des philanthropes suisses et internationaux les plus en vue pour réfléchir ensemble et partager des méthodes de réussite.

Selon vous, quelle est l'importance de la pratique consistant à rédiger un rapport final sur l'impact des projets financés ?

Le contrôle de l'impact prend de plus en plus d'importance et l'établissement d'un rapport complet est donc à mes yeux un élément indispensable pour une collaboration optimale avec le partenaire de promotion, mais aussi une mesure précieuse d'autocontrôle.

L'entretien a été mené par Elisa Bortoluzzi Dubach, docteur en droit. Elle est conseillère en matière de fondations et de sponsoring, auteure entre autres de "Stiftungen- Der Leitfaden für Antragsteller" (Fondations - Le guide du demandeur) et chargée de cours(www.elisabortoluzzi.com).

Publié dans Interview

Laisser un commentaire