Original language of the article: German

Basel/Geneva, 9 September 2021

One criterion for success in good committee work is diversity. Different competences, experiences, life backgrounds, ages and genders enable different perspectives and in many cases lead to better decisions. While the foundation sector is slowly catching up in terms of gender, there is still a great need for action in terms of age diversity on foundation boards.

"Ü50-Party" was the headline of an article in the Handelszeitung last year about the average age of board members in SMI companies. The same is true for charitable foundations. A recent survey by the Geneva Center on Philanthropy showed that of 720 foundation board members surveyed, 75% are over 50. Just 5% belong to the Millennial generation.

The newly established Board for Good Foundation wants to bring more young people and thus new topics and approaches into the Swiss foundation sector. To facilitate accessibility to young foundation board members, the programme offers people up to 35 years of age scholarships for foundation board training as well as access to an alumni network. Board for Good" was founded as a non-profit sub-foundation by Beate Eckhardt, the former managing director of SwissFoundations, and Georg von Schnurbein, professor and director of the Center for Philanthropy Studies at the University of Basel. Also on board are various programme, scholarship, training and networking partners. The founding partner is SwissFoundations, the association of Swiss funding foundations.

Interested persons can register via the website www.boardforgood.org and apply for a scholarship. The programme will start at the beginning of November 2021 as part of the Foundation Board Academy seminar in Basel, for which around five scholarship places have been reserved. From 2022 onwards, around 30 further education scholarships will be available each year at a number of Foundation Board further education courses in German- and French-speaking Switzerland.

Information and application for scholarships: www.boardforgood.org (Application deadline for the November start is 15 October 2021)

Founding partner: SwissFoundations
Programme partners: Credit Suisse (Switzerland) Ltd.
Scholarship partner: arcas foundation, Asuera Foundation, Ernst Göhner Foundation, Botnar Foundation, Gebert Rüf Foundation
Training partner: Foundation Board Academy, Rochester-Bern Executive Programs
Network partners: Association of Young Foundation Experts

For more information:
Beate Eckhardt, President Board for Good Foundation, +41 79 617 03 26, [email protected]

Posted in Media Releases

Leave a Reply

Langue originale de l'article : Allemand

Bâle/Genève, le 9 septembre 2021

L'un des critères de réussite d'un bon travail en comité est la diversité. Des compétences, des expériences, des contextes de vie, des âges et des sexes différents permettent d'avoir des perspectives différentes et conduisent dans de nombreux cas à de meilleures décisions. Alors que le secteur des fondations rattrape lentement son retard en matière de genre, il reste encore beaucoup à faire en ce qui concerne la diversité des âges au sein des conseils de fondation.

"Ü50-Party", titrait l'année dernière la Handelszeitung dans un article sur la moyenne d'âge des membres des conseils d'administration des entreprises du SMI. Il en va de même pour les fondations d'utilité publique. Une enquête menée récemment par le Geneva Center on Philanthropy a montré que sur 720 membres de conseils de fondation interrogés, 75% avaient plus de 50 ans. A peine 5% appartiennent à la génération des millennials.

La nouvelle Board for Good Foundation souhaite attirer davantage de jeunes, et donc de nouveaux thèmes et approches, dans le secteur des fondations en Suisse. Pour faciliter l'accès aux jeunes membres de conseils de fondation, le programme offre aux personnes de moins de 35 ans des bourses pour des formations continues en conseil de fondation ainsi que l'accès à un réseau d'anciens. Board for Good" a été créé en tant que sous-fondation d'utilité publique par Beate Eckhardt, ancienne directrice de SwissFoundations, et Georg von Schnurbein, professeur et directeur du Center for Philanthropy Studies à l'université de Bâle. Plusieurs partenaires de programmes, de bourses, de formation et de réseaux sont également à bord. Le partenaire fondateur est SwissFoundations, l'association des fondations donatrices suisses.

Les personnes intéressées peuvent s'inscrire sur le site www.boardforgood.org et postuler pour une bourse. Le programme sera lancé début novembre 2021 dans le cadre du séminaire des conseils de fondation de la Foundation Board Academy à Bâle, pour lequel environ cinq places de bourses sont réservées. A partir de 2022, une trentaine de bourses de formation continue seront disponibles chaque année dans le cadre d'une série de formations continues pour membres de conseils de fondation en Suisse alémanique et en Suisse romande.

Informations et candidature pour les bourses : www.boardforgood.org (La date limite d'inscription pour le début en novembre est le 15 octobre 2021)

Partenaire fondateur : SwissFoundations
Partenaires du programme : Credit Suisse (Suisse) AG
Partenaire de la bourse : arcas foundation, Fondation Asuera, Fondation Ernst Göhner, Fondation Botnar, Fondation Gebert Rüf
Partenaires de formation : Académie du conseil d'administration de la Fondation, Programmes exécutifs de Rochester-Berne
Partenaires du réseau : Association des jeunes experts en fondation

Pour plus d'informations :
Beate Eckhardt, présidente de la Board for Good Foundation, +41 79 617 03 26, [email protected]

Publié dans Communiqués de presse

Laisser un commentaire