4th article in the blog series with SwissFoundations!

The above statement, which reached us by email a few days ago, hits the nail on the head: networking within and outside the Swiss foundation sector is becoming more important than ever. The interest in the Swiss Foundation Symposium, which has now developed into the largest sector meeting in Switzerland, is correspondingly great. It is particularly nice to observe how the field of participants and speakers becomes more colourful and mixed with each passing year. So you can forgive me for a bit of name-dropping when I present you with a first glimpse of this year's programme:

Antonis Schwarz, a young perspective of the new generation of philanthropists, will take the main stage. As founder of the Guerilla Foundation and impact investor, he will speak about the potential of activist philanthropy - just before Leslie Johnston, Executive Director of the C&A Foundation, and directly after Aengus Collins, Head of Global Risks and the Geopolitical Agenda of the World Economic Forum.

As you can see, it's getting political. And when it comes to politics, psychology is not far behind. Prof. Dr Veronika Brandstätter-Morawietz, Professor of General Psychology with a focus on motivation, Thomas Vellacot, CEO of WWF Switzerland, and Dr Barbara Bleisch, philosopher and presenter of Sternstunde Philosophie (SRF), will discuss "Why we know (almost) everything and yet do (so) little". The second day will continue with Gabriele Woidelko, Head of History and Politics at the Körber Foundation, on the topic of "Defending the open society together - How foundations promote democracy and solidarity in Europe".

Once the Swiss foundation sector is gathered in one place, we not only want to discuss with each other, but also learn from each other: What happens, for example, when foundations let their target groups have a say in decision-making? What if the foundation board suddenly has to think entrepreneurially? How do you find the right funding concept? And how can a constructive culture of error be created?

As befits a future-oriented symposium, the topic of digitalisation will not be neglected. Although it has been on everyone's lips for some time, it has seldom been addressed in concrete terms, so we want to approach the whole thing from an implementation-oriented perspective: Lukas Bruhin, Secretary General of the Federal Department of Home Affairs, will report exclusively from the workshop of the digital transformation of foundation supervision (eESA). The next day, two foundation representatives will describe whether the digital transformation in foundations is primarily about eliminating pads and pencils or whether there is more to it. We have invited Stefanie Holm, Communications Manager of the ON Foundation, and Karin Schumacher, Chief Operating Officer of the Fondation Botnar.

This is a small foretaste of two dense days that will offer 19 discussion, practical and thematic forums, numerous keynotes, a diverse supporting programme and a joint evening event. We look forward to welcoming you on our "Grand Tour de Suisse" this year in the Bernese Oberland and to discovering the ecosystem "Beyond the Comfort Zone" together.

Your
signature
Katharina Guggi
Communication & Digital Strategy

Posted in Grantmaking Foundations, Foundations Switzerland

Leave a Reply

4. Artikel der Blogreihe mit SwissFoundations!

Obiges Statement, welches uns vor einigen Tagen per Mail erreichte, trifft den Nagel auf den Kopf: Die Vernetzung in- und ausserhalb des Schweizer Stiftungssektors wird wichtiger denn je. Entsprechend gross ist das Interesse am Schweizer Stiftungssymposium, das sich inzwischen zum grössten Branchentreffen der Schweiz entwickelt hat. Besonders schön zu beobachten ist, wie das Feld der Teilnehmenden und ReferentInnen mit jedem Jahr bunter und durchmischter wird. Etwas Namedropping sei mir daher verziehen, wenn ich Ihnen einen ersten Einblick ins diesjährige Programm präsentiere:

Mit Antonis Schwarz kommt eine junge Perspektive der neuen Stiftergeneration auf die Hauptbühne. Als Gründer der Guerilla Foundation und Impact Investor wird er über das Potenzial aktivistischer Philanthropie sprechen – gleich vor Leslie Johnston, Executive Director der C&A Foundation, und direkt nach Aengus Collins, Head of Global Risks and the Geopolitical Agenda des World Economic Forum.

Sie sehen, es wird politisch. Und wo es um Politik geht, ist auch die Psychologie nicht weit. «Warum wir (fast) alles wissen und doch (so) wenig tun», dazu tauschen sich Prof. Dr. Veronika Brandstätter-Morawietz, Professorin für Allgemeine Psychologie mit Schwerpunkt Motivation, Thomas Vellacot, CEO des WWF Schweiz und Dr. Barbara Bleisch, Philosophin und Moderatorin der Sternstunde Philosophie (SRF) aus. Weiter geht es am zweiten Tag mit Gabriele Woidelko, Leiterin Bereich Geschichte und Politik der Körber Stiftung, zum Thema «Gemeinsam die offene Gesellschaft verteidigen – Wie Stiftungen Demokratie und Solidarität in Europa fördern».

Ist die Schweizer Stiftungsbranche schon mal an einem Ort versammelt, wollen wir aber nicht nur miteinander diskutieren, sondern auch voneinander lernen: Was passiert zum Beispiel, wenn Stiftungen ihre Zielgruppen mitentscheiden lassen? Was, wenn der Stiftungsrat plötzlich unternehmerisch denken soll? Wie findet man das richtige Förderkonzept? Und wie entsteht eine konstruktive Fehlerkultur?

Wie es sich für ein zukunftsgerichtetes Symposium gehört, kommt auch das Thema Digitalisierung nicht zu kurz. Schon seit längerem in aller Munde, jedoch selten konkret erfasst, wollen wir das Ganze aus einer umsetzungsorientierten Perspektive angehen: Lukas Bruhin, Generalsekretär des Eidgenössischen Departements des Inneren, wird exklusiv aus der Werkstatt der digitalen Transformation der Stiftungsaufsicht (eESA) berichten. Ob es sich bei der digitalen Transformation in Stiftungen in erster Linie um die Eliminierung von Block und Bleistift handelt oder doch mehr dahintersteckt, schildern tags darauf gleich zwei Stiftungsvertreterinnen. Eingeladen haben wir Stefanie Holm, Communications Managerin der ON Foundation, und Karin Schumacher, Chief Operating Officer der Fondation Botnar.

Dies ein kleiner Vorgeschmack auf zwei dichte Tage, die 19 Diskussions-, Praxis- und Themenforen, zahlreiche Keynotes, ein vielfältiges Rahmenprogramm und einen gemeinsamen Abendanlass bieten. Wir freuen uns, Sie auf unserer «Grand Tour de Suisse» dieses Jahr im Berner Oberland zu begrüssen und gemeinsam das Ökosystem «Beyond the Comfort Zone» zu entdecken.

Ihre
signature
Katharina Guggi
Kommunikation & Digitale Strategie

Öffentlich Kommentieren