The Sandoz Family Foundation holds a stake in the pharmaceutical giant Novartis, owns several luxury hotels and watch companies, and is active in promoting research and culture. Meanwhile, the new "Fondation Philanthropique Famille Sandoz" is still "in a phase of strategy development". Fundraiso shows which projects the three Sandoz foundations support and how fundraisers get money.

Even children know the name "Sandoz". Those who have a cough are occasionally prescribed a syrup from the generic manufacturer Sandoz by their doctor. The company says it is "one of the world market leaders" in such off-patent medicines. The company was originally founded in 1886 as the Swiss chemical company "Kern & Sandoz" in Basel. Today, however, Sandoz is headquartered in Holzkirchen near Munich in Germany.

Sandoz and Ciba-Geigy became Novartis

Sandoz claims to be the world market leader in "generic" antibiotics and sells pharmaceutical products in more than 160 countries. In 1996, the merger of the Swiss companies Sandoz and Ciba-Geigy led to the creation of the Basel-based pharmaceutical giant Novartis. Novartis then re-bundled its generics business under the already established Sandoz brand in 2003. As a Novartis subsidiary, Sandoz generated sales of nearly $10 billion in 2019. The Sandoz Family Foundation holds 3.45 per cent of the share capital of Novartis through its holding company Emasan AG in Basel. According to various sources, the family foundation receives around CHF 200 to 250 million in dividends from Novartis every year.

Novartis participation aliments Sandoz family foundation

The name Sandoz is therefore not only a bringer of salvation for people with a cough, but also triggers monetary "expectations of salvation" among fundraisers, hoteliers, watchmakers, researchers, and cultural workers. If you search for the name "Sandoz" on Fundraiso.ch, you will get a hit list with six foundations with "Sandoz" in their name. The following foundations are associated with the billionaire family dynasty:

  • The "Sandoz-Fondation de Famille", founded in 1964 and based in Glarus. The assets of this family foundation, which is not supervised by the state, are estimated by Fundraiso.ch at around seven billion Swiss francs. The foundation spokesman is Jörg Denzler. He works for the commercial "Sandoz Family Office SA" in Pully near Lausanne. The Chairman of the Board of Directors of this public limited company is the management consultant and auditor Thomas Stenz from Küsnacht (ZH). Stenz is a member of the board of directors at Allreal, a former Ernst & Young partner and runs the company AAC Consulting AG in Zurich. According to information provided by telephone, he is "primarily active as a financial expert and consultant on a mandate basis for Sandoz Familiy Office SA." He had nothing to do directly with the Sandoz Foundation.
  • The Fondation Edouard et Maurice Sandoz (FEMS), founded in 1982 in Pully near Lausanne. According to Jörg Denzler, its main mission is "to promote the works of Edouard Marcel Sandoz (1881-1971) and Maurice Yves Sandoz". Edouard was the artistically gifted son of the founder of "Sandoz AG", Maurice his brother. Fundraiso estimates the assets of this foundation at 25 million Swiss francs. The FEMS pursues exclusively artistic and cultural goals. The foundation also aims to stimulate artistic creation and to support young artists, institutions, societies or foundations of public interest by means of grants, prize money or in other ways.
  • The charitable "La Fondation Philanthropique Famille Sandoz" (FPFS), founded in November 2018. It also has its headquarters in Pully. According to its spokesperson Jörg Denzler, this foundation "bundles, coordinates and handles social, philanthropic and patronage activities". The FPFS aims to support projects or institutions in the fields of education, environmental protection, culture, social affairs, health and humanitarian work. Jörg Denzler, spokesman for the foundation, did not answer written questions about the foundation's allocation practice, its current assets and much more because of a "strategy development phase". It is still too early to communicate more details about this foundation. At least there is an application form on the website. How much money is available remains unclear. After all, applications are supposed to be answered within a maximum of four months.

Son of the Sandoz founder launched the family foundation

The former "Sandoz-Fondation de Famille" is one of the most influential and well-funded family foundations in Switzerland. It was founded by the sculptor and painter Edouard-Marcel Sandoz. The son of the founder of Sandoz AG defined the goal of this family foundation as the promotion of entrepreneurial commitment by means of long-term investments in companies in various sectors. In addition to economic criteria, the family foundation is concerned with promoting "entrepreneurship and innovation" and "cultivating Swiss entrepreneurial tradition". According to its website, its investments are geared towards a strategic goal: "The preservation of high quality and the protection of fundamental social values".

Family foundation holds a wide variety of minority and majority shareholdings

Through various companies and holding companies, the Sandoz Family Foundation is directly or indirectly active in the pharmaceutical industry, agribusiness, the hotel industry and the watch industry. In Switzerland, for example, the foundation has built up the watch brand Parmigiani and the watch movement manufacturer Vaucher. It is also active in the 5-star hotel industry with the "Riffelalp Resort" in Zermatt, the "Beau Rivage" in Lausanne and the "La Palafitte" in Neuchâtel. According to its website, the philosophy underlying all its commitments is geared towards "technological innovation, sustainable development and the creation of new jobs". The foundation has also supported art and science in the past. Several Sandoz family members are involved in the activities of the family foundation in Switzerland or abroad. In particular, the following institutions are supported:

Former ETH Board President is President of the Foundation Board

Fritz Schiesser from Glarus South currently serves as President of the Family Foundation. Schiesser is no stranger to the foundation: He is a lawyer and notary in the canton of Glarus. From 1990 to 2007, he sat in the Council of States as an FDP member for the Canton of Glarus. Until 2007, he was also President of the Foundation Council of the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF). Until spring 2019, Schiesser also served as President of the ETH Board. He has many years of experience in foundation law.

Support for Sandoz family members as a foundation purpose

Equity investments are not the only goal of the entrepreneurial family foundation. It also aims to support Sandoz's many descendants with money. Specifically, family members can receive a sum from the foundation at the beginning of their careers if they want to start their own business. In an interview published in 1998, Pierre Landolt, then Sandoz Foundation President and current Vice-President of the Montreux Jazz Festival Foundation, said: "The rule in the family is simple: everyone is entitled to a start-up grant. You get a cheque to settle in, and then you make ends meet". Pierre Landolt was the last family representative on the Novartis Board of Directors. At the foundations, on the other hand, family members still play a decisive role - in the so-called family council. This informal body meets several times a year.

More than 600 requests per year

The Sandoz Family Foundation also gets involved in science and research and also provides assistant professorships and assistantships to Swiss universities and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne. The Foundation is also involved in supporting cultural institutions and events. For this purpose, it provides an annual budget with grants ranging from 1,000 to several hundred thousand francs. Each year, according to the foundation's website, "more than 600 requests are reviewed."

However, involvement in art and culture, as well as science, generally runs through the "Fondation Edouard et Maurice Sandoz" (FEMS). This is the counterpart to the more commercial activities of the Sandoz Family Foundation. For example, the FEMS awards an annual sponsorship prize of CHF 100,000 to an artist whose project convinces the jury of the "Prix FEMS". Alternately, the prize goes to a representative from the fields of sculpture, literature, painting, and music.

The third foundation in the group: FPFS

The youngest foundation in the triple alliance, the "Fondation Philanthropique Famille Sandoz"(FPFS), is committed to projects or institutions that contribute to the development of society in Switzerland and abroad. More specific objectives are to support projects or institutions in the fields of training, education, environmental protection, culture, social affairs, health and humanitarian work. The Foundation Board considers applications from institutions that pursue charitable goals, are based in Switzerland and are active in one or another of the above-mentioned areas. According to Jörg Denzler, "unsuitable" applications to the older Family Foundation will be forwarded to the new "Fondation Philanthropique Famille Sandoz". This foundation does not respond to requests to cover deficits or requests from commercial institutions. Even projects or events that have already been carried out have no chance of receiving a windfall from the honey pots of the billionaire Sandoz family dynasty.

Bernhard Bircher-Suits, FundCom AG

Posted in Grantmaking Foundations, Fundraising

One reply on "Money from the Sandoz honeypots for this".

Leave a Reply

Die Sandoz-Familienstiftung ist am Pharmariesen Novartis beteiligt, besitzt mehrere Luxus-Hotels und Uhrenfirmen und ist in der Forschungs- und Kulturförderung aktiv. Die neue «Fondation Philanthropique Famille Sandoz» befindet sich derweil noch «in einer Phase der Strategieentwicklung». Fundraiso zeigt, welche Projekte die drei Sandoz-Stiftungen unterstützen und wie Fundraiser an Geld kommen.

Bereits Kinder kennen den Namen «Sandoz». Wer Husten hat, erhält vom Arzt gelegentlich einen Sirup vom Generika-Hersteller Sandoz verschrieben. Das Unternehmen ist gemäss eigenen Angaben «einer der Weltmarktführer» bei solch patentfreien Arzneimitteln. Das Unternehmen wurde 1886 ursprünglich als Schweizer Chemieunternehmen «Kern & Sandoz» in Basel gegründet. Der Hauptsitz von Sandoz liegt heute aber im deutschen Holzkirchen nahe München.

Aus Sandoz und Ciba-Geigy wurde Novartis

Sandoz ist gemäss eigenen Angaben Weltmarktführer bei «generischen» Antibiotika und vertreibt Pharma-Produkte in mehr als 160 Ländern. 1996 führte der Zusammenschluss der Schweizer Unternehmen Sandoz und Ciba-Geigy zur Gründung des Basler Pharmariesen Novartis. Novartis bündelte im Jahr 2003 ihr Generika-Geschäft dann unter der bereits etablierten Marke Sandoz neu. Als Novartis-Tochter erwirtschaftete Sandoz im Jahr 2019 einen Umsatz von fast 10 Milliarden US-Dollar. Die Sandoz-Familienstiftung hält über die Beteiligungsgesellschaft Emasan AG in Basel 3.45 Prozent des Aktienkapitals von Novartis. Die Familienstiftung erhält gemäss verschiedenen Quellen Jahr für Jahr rund 200 bis 250 Millionen Franken an Dividenden von Novartis ausbezahlt.

Novartis-Beteiligung alimentiert Sandoz-Familienstiftung

Der Name Sandoz ist daher nicht nur für hustende Menschen ein Heilsbringer, sondern löst auch bei Fundraisern, Hoteliers, Uhrmachern, Forschenden sowie Kulturschaffenden monetäre «Heilserwartungen» aus. Wer auf Fundraiso.ch nach dem Namen «Sandoz» sucht, erhält eine Trefferliste mit sechs Stiftungen mit «Sandoz» im Namen. Folgende Stiftungen sind mit der milliardenschweren Familien-Dynastie verbunden:

  • Die 1964 gegründete «Sandoz-Fondation de Famille» mit Sitz in Glarus. Das Vermögen dieser staatlich nicht beaufsichtigten Familienstiftung schätzt Fundraiso.ch auf rund sieben Milliarden Franken. Stiftungssprecher ist Jörg Denzler. Er arbeitet für die kommerzielle «Sandoz Family Office SA» in Pully bei Lausanne. Verwaltungsratspräsident dieser Aktiengesellschaft ist der Unternehmensberater und Wirtschaftsprüfer Thomas Stenz aus Küsnacht (ZH). Stenz ist Verwaltungsratsmitglied bei Allreal, ehemaliger Ernst & Young-Partner und führt das Unternehmen AAC Consulting AG in Zürich. Er sei gemäss telefonischer Auskunft «vor allem als Finanzexperte und Berater auf Mandatsbasis für die Sandoz Familiy Office SA tätig.» Mit der Sandoz-Stiftung habe er direkt nichts zu tun.

  • Die 1982 gegründete Fondation Edouard et Maurice Sandoz (FEMS) in Pully bei Lausanne. Gemäss Jörg Denzler ist deren Hauptauftrag «die Förderung der Werke von Edouard Marcel Sandoz (1881-1971) und Maurice Yves Sandoz». Edouard war der künstlerisch begabte Sohn des Gründers der «Sandoz AG», Maurice sein Bruder. Fundraiso schätzt das Vermögen dieser Förderstiftung auf 25 Millionen Franken. Die FEMS verfolgt ausschliesslich künstlerische und kulturelle Ziele. Die Stiftung will auch das Kunstschaffen anregen und junge Künstler, Institutionen, Gesellschaften oder Stiftungen von öffentlichem Interesse mittels Zuschüsse, Preisgeldern oder auf andere Art und Weise unterstützen.

  • Die im November 2018 gegründete wohltätige «La Fondation Philanthropique Famille Sandoz» (FPFS). Sie hat ihren Sitz ebenfalls in Pully. Gemäss ihrem Sprecher Jörg Denzler werden in dieser Stiftung «soziale, philanthropische und mäzenatische Aktivitäten gebündelt, koordiniert und abgewickelt». Ziel der FPFS ist es, Projekte oder Institutionen in den Bereichen Bildung, Umweltschutz, Kultur, Soziales, Gesundheit und humanitäre Arbeit zu unterstützen. Schriftliche Fragen zur Vergabepraxis, dem aktuellen Stiftungsvermögen und vielem mehr liess Stiftungssprecher Jörg Denzler wegen einer «Phase der Strategieentwicklung» unbeantwortet. Es sei noch zu früh, mehr Details über diese Stiftung zu kommunizieren. Immerhin: Auf der Website gibt es ein Antragsformular. Wieviel Geld vorhanden ist, bleibt somit unklar. Immerhin sollen Gesuche innert maximal vier Monaten beantwortet werden.

Sohn des Sandoz-Gründers lancierte die Familienstiftung

Die erstgenannte «Sandoz-Fondation de Famille» zählt zu den einflussreichsten und kapitalstärksten Familienstiftungen der Schweiz. Sie wurde vom Bildhauer und Maler Edouard-Marcel Sandoz gegründet. Der Sohn des Sandoz AG-Gründers definierte als Ziel dieser Familienstiftung die Förderung des unternehmerischen Engagements mittels langfristig angelegter Beteiligungen an Unternehmen verschiedener Branchen. Neben wirtschaftlichen Kriterien geht es der Familienstiftung dabei um die Förderung von «Unternehmertum und Innovation» sowie um die «Pflege schweizerischer Unternehmer-Tradition». Ihre Investitionen sind gemäss Website auf ein strategisches Ziel ausgerichtet: «Die Erhaltung der hohen Qualität und den Schutz grundlegender sozialer Werte».

Familienstiftung hält unterschiedlichste Minderheits- und Mehrheitsbeteiligungen

Über verschiedene Unternehmen und Holdinggesellschaften ist die Sandoz-Familienstiftung direkt oder indirekt in den Bereichen Pharmaindustrie, Agrobusiness, Hotellerie und Uhrenindustrie tätig. In der Schweiz hat die Stiftung zum Beispiel die Uhrenmarke Parmigiani und den Uhrwerkhersteller Vaucher aufgebaut. Sie ist auch in der 5-Stern-Hotellerie tätig mit dem «Riffelalp Resort» in Zermatt, dem «Beau Rivage» in Lausanne und dem «La Palafitte» in Neuenburg. Die allen Engagements zugrunde liegende Philosophie ist gemäss Website ausgerichtet auf «technologische Innovationskraft, eine nachhaltige Entwicklung und die Schaffung neuer Arbeitsplätze». Die Stiftung unterstützte bisher auch Kunst und Wissenschaft. Mehrere Sandoz-Familienmitglieder sind in der Schweiz oder im Ausland an den Aktivitäten der Familienstiftung beteiligt. Insbesondere werden die folgenden Institutionen unterstützt:

Ehemaliger ETH-Ratspräsident ist Stiftungsratspräsident

Aktuell ist Fritz Schiesser aus Glarus Süd als Stiftungspräsident der Familienstiftung tätig. Schiesser ist kein Unbekannter: Er ist Anwalt und Notar im Kanton Glarus. Von 1990 bis 2007 sass er als FDP-Mitglied für den Kanton Glarus im Ständerat. Bis ins Jahr 2007 war er zudem Präsident des Stiftungsrats des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF). Bis im Frühling 2019 wirkte Schiesser auch als Präsident des ETH-Rats. Er verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung im Stiftungsrecht.

Unterstützung der Sandoz-Familienmitglieder als Stiftungszweck

Kapitalbeteiligungen sind nicht das einzige Ziel der unternehmerisch tätigen Familien-Stiftung. Sie zielt auch darauf ab, die vielen Nachkommen von Sandoz mit Geld zu unterstützen. Konkret können Familienmitglieder zu Beginn ihrer Karriere, wenn sie ein eigenes Unternehmen gründen wollen, einen Betrag von der Stiftung erhalten. In einem 1998 publizierten Interview sagte der damalige Sandoz-Stiftungspräsident Pierre Landolt und amtierende Vizepräsident der Stiftung des Jazz Festivals Montreux: «Die Regel in der Familie ist einfach: Jeder hat Anspruch auf eine Starthilfe. Man bekommt einen Scheck, um sich einzugewöhnen, und dann kommt man über die Runden». Pierre Landolt war der letzte Familienvertreter im Verwaltungsrat von Novartis. Bei den Stiftungen spielen die Familienmitglieder hingegen immer noch eine entscheidende Rolle – im sogenannten Familienrat. Dieses informelle Gremium trifft sich mehrmals pro Jahr.

Mehr als 600 Anfragen pro Jahr

Die Sandoz-Familienstiftung mischt auch in der Wissenschaft und Forschung mit und stellt auch Schweizer Universitäten und der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Lausanne Assistenzprofessoren- und Assistenten-Posten bereit. Die Stiftung engagiert sich auch zu Gunsten kultureller Institutionen und Veranstaltungen. Dafür stellt sie alljährlich ein Budget mit Zuschüssen zwischen 1'000 und mehreren hundertausend Franken zur Verfügung. Jedes Jahr werden gemäss der Stiftungswebsite «mehr als 600 Anfragen geprüft». Das Engagement in Kunst und Kultur sowie der Wissenschaft läuft in der Regel aber über die «Fondation Edouard et Maurice Sandoz» (FEMS). Sie bildet das Gegenstück zu den eher wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten der Sandoz-Familienstiftung. Die FEMS vergibt zum Beispiel jährlich einen Förderpreis über 100'000 Franken an eine Künstlerin oder ein Künstler, dessen Projekt die Jury des «Prix FEMS» überzeugt. Abwechslungsweise geht der Preis an einen Vertreter aus den Bereichen Bildhauerei, Literatur, Malerei und Musik.

Die dritte Stiftung im Bunde: Die FPFS

Die jüngste Stiftung im Dreier-Bund, die «Fondation Philanthropique Famille Sandoz» (FPFS), engagiert sich für Projekte oder Institutionen, die zur Entwicklung der Gesellschaft in der Schweiz und im Ausland beitragen. Konkretere Ziele sind Projekte oder Institutionen in den Bereichen Ausbildung, Bildung, Umweltschutz, Kultur, Soziales, Gesundheit und humanitäre Arbeit zu unterstützen. Der Stiftungsrat prüft Gesuche von Einrichtungen, die gemeinnützige Ziele verfolgen, in der Schweiz ansässig sind und in dem einen oder anderen der oben genannten Bereiche tätig sind. Gemäss Jörg Denzler werden «unpassende» Anträge an die ältere Familienstiftung an die neue «Fondation Philanthropique Famille Sandoz» weitergeleitet. Auf Anträge zur Defizitdeckung oder Gesuche von kommerziellen Einrichtungen tritt diese Stiftung nicht ein. Auch bereits durchgeführte Projekte oder Veranstaltungen haben keine Chance auf einen Geldsegen aus den Honigtöpfen der Milliarden schweren Familiendynastie Sandoz.

Bernhard Bircher-Suits, FundCom AG

Veröffentlicht unter Fundraising, Gastbeiträge

Öffentlich Kommentieren