Today, the possibilities to donate cryptocurrencies directly are very limited. This article is intended to draw attention to the day of action from the USA. Brought to life by THE GIVING BLOCK this day aims to promote the spread of crypto-donations.

Crypto donations already relevant today?

Buzzwords like bitcoin and blockchain are on everyone's lips. New asset and wealth classes have been invented with them and their acceptance is steadily increasing. A week ago, just Paypal made Bitcoin available to over 300 million customers/users and 26 million merchants in the USA. As is well known, the NPO sector is always a little behind in terms of digitalisation. Consequently, the field of "crypto-philanthropy" and thus also the "crypto-donations", which are now to gain more visibility with Bitcoin Tuesday, are less well known. The fact is the more accessible cryptocurrencies become, the more exciting they become in terms of generating donations. The best-known example of a crypto-donation is probably the Pineapple Fund. An anonymous donor who donated 5057 Bitcoins with a total value of approximately 86 million US dollars to 60 different charities.

The current market capitalisation of all cryptocurrencies is around 500 billion Swiss francs according to Coinmarketcap.com. The company specialising in cryptofinancial services alone Bitcoinsuisse.com speaks of 1 billion Swiss francs in crypto assets that it is allowed to manage. Anyone who studies the charts will notice that we are currently in a 2nd upswing of these assets. It is therefore worth looking ahead to the next chapter of this technical and financial innovation (possibly revolution) and making friends with expressions like the following: Tokenomics, Yield Farming, DeFi, NFTs, DAO.

But why should crypto donations be accepted: Exchanging cryptocurrencies for cash entails high transaction costs, which is a barrier to donations. Direct donations in the sense of wallet-to-wallet reduce the transaction costs considerably and increase the willingness to donate. In addition, this lowers the hurdle for a transaction. The fact that Paypal is introducing Bitcoins and is also a popular platform for transferring donations should give the topic new relevance.

On a personal note: The technicians at Fundraiso.ch, who have been in the cryptocurrency game since day 1, are now offering technical advice on crypto donations. Technologies are established faster than you realise. Don't miss the boat and benefit from your own strategy on the topic of crypto donations.

Your contact for questions: Moritz Gysel

Posted in Crypto Donations

Leave a Reply

Heute sind die Möglichkeiten Kryptowährungen direkt zu spenden sehr beschränkt. Dieser Artikel soll auf den Aktionstag aus den USA aufmerksam machen. Ins Leben gerufen von THE GIVING BLOCK hat dieser Tag das Ziel die Verbreitung von Krypto-Spenden voranzutreiben.

Krypto-Spenden heute schon relevant?

Buzzwords wie Bitcoin und Blockchain sind in aller Munde. Neue Asset- und Vermögensklassen wurden damit erfunden und ihre Akzeptanz steigt stetig. Vor einer Woche hat gerade Paypal in den USA Bitcoin für über 300 Millionen Kunden/Nutzer und 26 Millionen Händler zugänglich gemacht. Bekanntlich hinkt der NPO-Sektor in Sachen Digitalisierung jeweils ein wenig hinterher. Folglich weniger bekannt ist der Bereich der "Crypto-Philanthropy" und damit auch die "Crypto-Donations", die nun mit dem Bitcoin Tuesday mehr Visibilität erlangen sollen. Fakt ist je zugänglicher die Kryptowährungen werden, desto spannender werden diese hinsichtlich der Generierung von Spenden. Das bekannteste Beispiel einer Kryptospende ist wohl der Pineapple Fund. Ein anonymer Spender, der 5057 Bitcoins im Gesamtwert von ca. 86 Millionen US-Dollar an 60 verschiedene gemeinnützige Einrichtungen spendete.

Die aktuelle Marktkapitalisierung aller Kryptowährungen liegt bei rund 500 Milliarden Schweizer Franken gemäss Coinmarketcap.com. Alleine die auf Kryptofinanzdienstleistungen spezialisierte Firma Bitcoinsuisse.com spricht von 1 Milliarde Schweizer Franken Krypto-Vermögenswerten, die sie verwalten darf. Wer die Charts studiert merkt, dass wir uns gerade in einem 2. Aufschwung dieser Werte befinden. Deshalb lohnt es sich, auf das nächste Kapitel dieser technischen und finanziellen Innovation (ev. Revolution) zu blicken und sich mit Ausdrücken wie den folgenden anzufreunden: Tokenomics, Yield Farming, DeFi, NFTs, DAO.

Doch weshalb soll man Krypto-Spenden annehmen: Der Umtausch von Kryptowährungen in Bargeld bringt hohe Transaktionskosten mit sich, was eine Barriere für Spenden bedeutet. Direkte Spenden im Sinne von Wallet-to-Wallet reduzieren die Transaktionskosten beträchtlich und erhöhen die Spendebereitschaft. Zudem wird dadurch die Hürde für eine Transaktion geringer. Gerade die Tatsache, dass Paypal Bitcoins bei sich einführt und zugleich eine beliebte Plattform für die Überweisung von Spenden ist, sollte dem Thema neue Aktualität geben .

In eigener Sache: Die Techniker von Fundraiso.ch, die schon seit Tag 1 bei den Kryptowährungen mitspielen, bieten neu technische Beratungen zum Thema Crypto-Donations an. Technologien sind schneller etabliert als man es merkt. Verpassen sie nicht den Anschluss und profitieren Sie von einer eigenen Strategie zum Thema Crypto-Donations.

Ihr Kontakt bei Fragen: Moritz Gysel

Veröffentlicht unter Fundraising, fundraiso

Öffentlich Kommentieren