The start of your investor search should be with foundations - Many foundations fund start-ups, technology and innovation

Funding start-up through foundation

Which foundations support your start-up?
Start request

There are 13,000 charitable foundations in Switzerland. Of these, around 7000 are under federal and 6000 under cantonal supervision. Many of these foundations promote start-ups, young companies, innovation, technology, entrepreneurship and research & development. Foundations are also behind many start-up programmes (e.g. Venture-Kick), funding vehicles and awards. It is worthwhile to clarify which foundations are suitable investors for your own start-up project.

With foundations, there is still a lot of room for improvement for young companies/start-ups

Foundations are attractive donors because they are non-profit organisations and therefore primarily focused on fulfilling the foundation's purpose. The profit motive is not as dominant as with venture capitalists. Funding by a foundation often also means access to the network behind the foundation, which is usually made up of established people in business and politics. Nevertheless, foundations are not so well known as funders in the Swiss start-up scene. There is room for improvement. Fundraiso.ch maintains a list of foundations that are active as investors. In total, there are hundreds of foundations that are active in various thematic areas. For a specific project, fundraiso can also provide a customised extract of relevant institutions to give you an overview of your potential investors. You can start a non-binding enquiry here.

Fundraising for foundations

If you are trying to win over a foundation as an investor, it makes sense to first select those foundations that are thematically suitable for your own project. Foundations are very strongly bound to their own foundation purpose and statutes and can therefore only act within these possibilities. Once the right foundations have been identified, each foundation should be contacted in the way it wishes. More modern foundations offer standardised application procedures via the internet. Traditionally held foundations still insist on a dossier by post. In addition to a management summary, the budget plan should also be included so that the foundation can immediately see what a financial commitment would look like.

Scope and nature of a foundation investment

Larger foundations are not active at all as long as a minimum amount is not exceeded. Often, commitments of less than 100,000 francs are not even considered. Smaller foundations, on the other hand, can donate larger amounts if they are convinced by a project. It is therefore not only worthwhile to approach the large institutions, but all thematically relevant organisations. Foundations are also happy to grant interest-free (or reduced-interest) loans. Foundations offer a great alternative to debt financing, especially in times of restrictive corporate credit. The rule, however, is that a foundation wants to participate in the equity. Some also pre-define what a minimum share must be for a commitment to take place.

fundraiso.ch can help

The daily updated database of fundraiso.ch enables timely and precise searches, which show you all funding opportunities from the areas of foundations, funds, awards and funding associations. Search yourself as a Premium Member or submit the search.

Der Start Ihrer Investorensuche sollte bei Stiftungen erfolgen - Viele Stiftungen fördern Startups, Technologie und Innovation

Finanzierung Startup durch Stiftung

Welche Stiftungen unterstützen Ihr Startup?
Anfrage starten

In der Schweiz existieren 13000 gemeinnützige Stiftungen. Davon sind rund 7000 unter eidgenössischer und 6000 unter kantonaler Aufsicht. Viele dieser Stiftungen fördern Startups, Jungunternehmen, Innovation, Technologie, Unternehmertum sowie Forschung & Entwicklung. Hinter vielen Startup-Programmen (Beispiel Venture-Kick), Fördergefässen und Awards stehen ebenfalls Stiftungen als Geldgeber. Es lohnt sich entsprechend zu klären, welche Stiftungen als Investoren beim eigenen Startup-Projekt in Frage kommen.

Bei Stiftungen gibt es für Jungunternehmen/ Startups noch viel Luft nach oben

Stiftungen sind attraktive Geldgeber, denn sie sind gemeinnützige Organisationen und entsprechend in erster Linie darauf fokussiert, den Stiftungszweck zu erfüllen. Der Profitgedanke ist nicht so dominierend, wie bei Venture Capitalists. Förderung durch eine Stiftung bedeutet oft auch Zugang zum Netzwerk hinter der Stiftung, das sich meist durch etablierte Personen in Wirtschaft und Politik zusammensetzt. Dennoch sind Stiftungen als Geldgeber in der Schweizer Startupszene nicht so bekannt. Es existiert Luft nach oben. Fundraiso.ch betreibt eine Liste von Stiftungen, welche als Investoren tätig sind. Insgesamt handelt es sich um hunderte Stiftungen, die in verschiedenen Themengebieten aktiv sind. Für ein spezifisches Projekt kann fundraiso auch einen massgeschneiderten Auszug der relevanten Einrichtungen erstellen, damit Sie einen Überblick Ihrer potentiellen Investoren erhalten. Eine unverbindliche Anfrage können Sie hier starten.

Fundraising bei Stiftungen

Versuchen Sie eine Stiftung als Investor zu gewinnen, ist es sinnvoll zunächst jene Stiftungen herauszusuchen, die thematisch für das eigene Projekt in Frage kommen. Stiftungen sind sehr stark an den eigenen Stiftungszweck sowie an die eigenen Statuten gebunden und können entsprechend nur innerhalb dieser Möglichkeiten agieren. Sind die richtigen Stiftungen einmal identifiziert, sollte jede Stiftung so kontaktiert werden, wie diese es sich wünscht. Modernere Stiftungen bieten standardisierte Gesuchsabläufe über das Internet an. Traditionell gehaltene Stiftungen bestehen auch heute noch auf ein Dossier per Post. Inhaltlich sollte neben einem Management-Summary auch der Budgetplan gleich ansatzweise mitgeschickt werden, damit die Stiftung gleich sieht, wie ein finanzielles Engagement aussehen würde.

Umfang und Art eines Stiftungsinvestments

Grössere Stiftungen werden gar nicht aktiv, solange ein Mindestbetrag nicht überschritten wird. Oft werden Engagements unter 100,000 Franken gar nicht betrachtet. Kleinere Stiftungen wieder können grössere Beträge sprechen, sofern diese von einem Projekt überzeugt sind. Es lohnt sich also nicht nur die grossen Einrichtungen anzugehen, sondern alle thematisch relevanten Organisationen. Stiftungen sprechen auch gerne zinslose (oder vergünstigte) Darlehen. Stiftungen bieten gerade in der Zeit restriktiver Unternehmenskredite eine tolle Alternative zur Fremdfinanzierung an. Die Regel ist jedoch, dass sich eine Stiftung am Eigenkapital beteiligen will. Bei manchen ist auch vordefiniert was ein minimaler Anteil sein muss, damit ein Engagement stattfinden kann.

fundraiso.ch kann helfen

Die tagesaktuelle Datenbank von fundraiso.ch ermöglicht zeitnahe und präzise Recherchen, welche Ihnen alle Fördermöglichkeiten aus den Bereichen Stiftungen, Fonds, Awards und Fördervereinen aufzeigen. Suchen Sie selbst als Premium-Mitglied oder geben Sie die Recherche ab.