Who would you rather donate to - children's aid? the elderly? To the marginalised? Or to cancer research? Why do you volunteer for an organisation? When are you prepared to recommend an NPO as "worthy of support" or to defend it against malicious tongues? What criteria do you use to decide? If the pictures are pretty and the subject touching? Well, basically you do it when you feel emotionally close to the organisation and when it enjoys a good reputation.

Emotional closeness and reputation are crucial for generating support. The University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland has investigated this in a broad research project with gfs-zürich in relation to non-profit organisations. The weighting of these two dimensions may well vary. Reputation is crucial for generating support through the channel of trust. Above all, however, vision, mission and values count, i.e. what an NPO wants to achieve and what it stands for. This generates an even stronger support mechanism, emotional closeness. Those who feel particularly close to an organisation emotionally are also prepared to overlook mistakes and incongruities in behaviour. This is especially important at a time when the outrage society is repeatedly confronted with negative headlines and critical online comments.
Organisations that have a good reputation, to which one feels close, survive more or less diffuse accusations and also crises faster than organisations to which one is critical or negative up front. It goes without saying that the respective organisation must be seen and heard, be noticeable, i.e. communicate well. This is not about cosmetics or glossing over things, but about substance and performance.
The core questions on the reputation of NPOs can be assigned to five dimensions: Social benefit, management, reliability, transparency and general appreciation. In this context, the organisation owes a debt of gratitude. It has to prove itself: How high is its benefit to society? Is it long-term and unique? Is the organisation well managed? Does it do a good job? Does it deliver what it promises? Are its activities and financial practices transparent? Is it generally recognised?
In addition to trust-based reputation, the phenomenon of "personal or emotional closeness" to the organisation has an impact. Many NPOs explicitly base their mission on fundamental values whose realisation their work aims to achieve. The key questions from the perspective of the reference groups here are: Do I feel connected to the organisation? Do I share the same values? Am I interested in the same issues? Does this organisation also generate an indirect benefit for me (reciprocal altruism)?
It is fundamental to know the expectations of important reference groups and to consciously manage reputation as well as personal closeness. The Reputation Monitor was developed for this purpose. Where possible, expectations should be met. Where this is not possible or desired, this must be explained and understanding sought. The recipe of "pretty and touching" does not quite apply to everyone.

Prof. Rodolfo Ciucci
Lecturer for Communication

University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland
University of Applied Sciences
[email protected]

FHNW Logo

Posted in NPO Communication

Leave a Reply

Wem würden Sie lieber spenden - der Kinderhilfe? Betagten? Randständigen? oder der Krebsforschung? Warum setzen Sie sich freiwillig für eine Organisation ein? Wann sind Sie bereit, eine NPO als "unterstützungswürdig" zu empfehlen oder sie gegen böse Zungen zu verteidigen? Nach welchen Kriterien entscheiden Sie? Wenn die Bilder hübsch und das Thema rührend sind? Nun, im Grunde genommen tun Sie es, wenn Sie sich der Organisation emotional nahe fühlen und wenn sie eine gute Reputation geniesst.

Emotionale Nähe und Reputation sind entscheidend, um Unterstützung zu generieren. Das hat die Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz in einem breit angelegten Forschungsprojekt mit der gfs-zürich in Bezug auf Nonprofit-Organisationen untersucht. Dabei kann die Gewichtung dieser beiden Dimensionen durchaus schwanken. Reputation ist entscheidend, um über die Schiene des Vertrauens Unterstützung zu generieren. Vor allem aber zählen Vision, Mission und Werte, also was eine NPO erreichen will und wofür sie einsteht. Dies erzeugt einen noch stärkeren Unterstützungsmechanismus, die emotionale Nähe. Wer sich einer Organisation emotional besonders nahe fühlt, ist auch bereit, über Fehler und Inkongruenzen im Verhalten hinwegzusehen. Das ist besonders wichtig in einer Zeit, in der die Empörungsgesellschaft wiederkehrend mit Negativ-Schlagzeilen und kritischen Online-Kommentaren konfrontiert wird.
Organisationen, die über eine gute Reputation verfügen, denen man sich nahe fühlt, überstehen mehr oder weniger diffuse Vorwürfe und auch Krisen schneller als Organisationen, denen man vorneweg kritisch oder negativ gesinnt ist. Selbstredend gehört dazu, dass die jeweilige Organisation gesehen und gehört wird, spürbar ist, also gut kommuniziert. Dabei geht es nicht um Kosmetik oder Schönfärberei, sondern um Substanz und Leistung.
Die Kernfragen zur Reputation von NPO lassen sich fünf Dimensionen zuordnen: Gesellschaftlicher Nutzen, Management, Verlässlichkeit, Transparenz und allgemeine Wertschätzung. Dabei steht die Organisation in einer Bringschuld. Sie hat sich zu beweisen: Wie hoch ist ihr Nutzen für die Gesellschaft? Ist er langfristig und einzigartig? Wird die Organisation gut geführt? Leistet sie gute Arbeit? Hält sie, was sie verspricht? Sind Tätigkeit und Finanzgebaren transparent? Ist sie allgemein anerkannt?
Neben der vertrauensbasierten Reputation wirkt das Phänomen "persönliche oder emotionale Nähe" zur Organisation. Viele NPO gründen ihren Auftrag ausdrücklich auf fundamentale Werte, deren Verwirklichung ihre Arbeit zum Ziel hat. Die Kernfragen aus Sicht der Bezugsgruppen sind hier: Fühle ich mich der Organisation verbunden? Teile ich die gleichen Werte? Interessiere ich mich für dieselben Themen? Generiert diese Organisation einen auch indirekten Nutzen für mich (reziproker Altruismus)?
Grundlegend ist, die Erwartungen wichtiger Bezugsgruppen zu kennen und die Reputation ebenso wie die persönliche Nähe bewusst zu steuern. Dazu wurde der Reputationsmonitor entwickelt. Wo möglich, sollten die Erwartungen erfüllt werden. Wo dies nicht möglich oder gewollt ist, muss dies erklärt und um Verständnis geworben werden. Das Rezept mit "Hübsch und rührend" gilt halt doch nicht ganz für alle.

Prof. Rodolfo Ciucci
Dozent für Kommunikation

Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz
Hochschule für Wirtschaft
rodolfo.ciucci@fhnw.ch

FHNW Logo

Öffentlich Kommentieren